Miso Glazed Salmon

This tender flaky fillet is topped with a sweet and savory miso glaze that caramelizes under the broiler. It comes together quickly, and totally fits the bill for a healthy week night meal.

Do you ever make something and it totally tastes about 1,000,000 times better than it looks? That’s exactly what happened with this salmon. Actually, I hesitated on sharing these photos with you guys because they look a little odd. Let me tell you though, miso glaze and salmon were just meant to be together. They’re food soul mates. Pair that salmon with some sesame kale, and you have a delicious weeknight meal that will come together for you in about 15 minutes!

Let’s talk about how awesome this cut of fish that I bought was for a second. It was fresh, never frozen, wild Atlantic salmon. Local! Ama-za-zing, and … sushi grade. That generous (8 oz!) fillet of salmon pictured above was leftover from a sushi making experience this weekend. It was so much fun! The main thing I learned from the sushi making session is that – 1 pound of salmon sashimi is waaaay too much. We made 8 generous rolls with 8 ounces of salmon.  I suppose the second thing would be….if you can roll a sleeping bag – you have most of the skills you need for sushi rolling. Sushi post coming soon! It was way easier than I imagined. Major tangent.

I was talking about how burned out I have been recently when it comes to cooking in my last post. I suppose spending my weekends doing things like rolling 4 different kinds of homemade sushi might have something to do with it. The world may never know. I’ve also increased the intensity of my fitness regimen, so I’ve been wanting food NOW. I get home from the gym and food must be in my face-hole instantly or the world starts collapsing around me, the sky starts falling, etc. This phenomenon is called hangry, or hungry+angry. It happens, and must be cured quickly. The meal we’re talking about today fits the bill for these situations perfectly. Delicious, filling, and QUICK.

Recipe serves 2 with a serving size of 4oz per person

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounce salmon fillet, skin on
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil

For the glaze:

  • 2 tablespoons mild miso paste
    • Miso paste is a fermented soy bean paste, and an essential ingredient to Japanese cooking. It’s the main ingredient in the ever-popular miso soup. I bought mine from an Asian grocer, but I have also seen it in my local chain market. It’s found in the refrigerated section.
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 1/2 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
  • 1 clove garlic (fine minced or pressed)

Directions:

This salmon is seared in a hot pan and finished under the broiler

  • Score the salmon skin with a very sharp knife, being careful not to cut all the way through
  • Mix together miso glaze ingredients
  • Pre-heat your broiler to high
  • Heat an oven proof skillet with the vegetable oil to medium high heat
  • Add salmon to hot pan with skin side down. Allow to cook undisturbed for about 2 minutes
  • Spoon enough glaze on to the salmon to cover it’s surface and place under the broiler for an additional 2-4 minutes to finish the cooking process and brown the glaze on top
    • Make sure to check on your salmon at the 2 minute mark to ensure it hasn’t overcooked. Broiler temperatures vary on every oven (mine runs cool), so make sure to keep an eye on it! 
As the weather gets nicer, I’ll definitely be making this one again on the grill!
.
4 thoughts on “Miso Glazed Salmon

  1. I think you and I are food soul mates. Evidence:
    1. I ALWAYS insist that I’m hangry when I’m grumpy. Sometimes my boyfriend will just make me eat if I’m getting grumpy because it’s surely the cause. If I wait too long to plan dinner, I usually have to eat out because my hanger will take over, and I’ll lose the ability to find something to eat in my house. THERE’S NO FOOD IN HERE!!! NOTHING SOUNDS GOOD!!! hehe. Hanger makes me overly dramatic.
    2. I also argue that bite-sized food is way more fun and delicious (re: your endive boats). See my pie puffs, for example.
    3. We have the same napkin (above).

  2. Pingback: Glazed Salmon | Living Simply By Going Backwards

Comments are closed.