Sweet Potato and Zucchini Latkes with Creamy Chipotle Lime Dipping Sauce

These zucchini and sweet potato latkes are just the ticket to quell a craving for fried potatoes. We all get those. Don’t try and deny it. Fried potato cravings are completely natural. Nice and crispy on the outside with buttery zucchini and sweet potato in the middle. These little guys were a incredibly delicious spin on the traditional potato pancake, especially when paired with the chipotle and lime dipping sauce. For some reason my brain immediately thought “chipotle and lime” when I saw the potato and zucchini. It was a good call. I loved how the buttery zucchini and sweet potato paired with the mildly spicy, tangy sauce.

I found a recipe for potato and zucchini latkes in my new”Joy the Baker” cookbook. I’ve been following her blog for quite a while, and was really excited when the book released. This little recipe was the first thing I decided to try. Of course, being the persnickity sort,  I chose one of the few savory recipes in a book full of beautiful desserts, and then altered it to suit my tastes. I will say though, I loved these! I chose well (insert back pat) and will make these again. The book is really beautiful, and fun to read too. I’ll definitely be trying out more recipes from the book soon, and trying to venture out of my savory comfort zone a bit. That was the point of purchasing a baker’s cookbook, after all.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 2 cups peeled and grated sweet potato
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup finely diced yellow onion
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

For the dipping sauce:

  • 1/2 cup non-fat Greek yogurt
  • Juice of 1/2 lime (more if you like)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 chipotle pepper in adobo
Directions:
  • Place a medium-sized sauté pan over medium heat. Heat 2 tablespoons of the olive oil and add onions. Cook onion until it is translucent, the add garlic. Cook for 1 more minute. Place onions and garlic in a small bowl.
  • Place zucchini and potato along with 1/2 teaspoon of the salt in a colander over a medium bowl. Let sit for 10 minutes, then press down with a clean towel, squeezing out excess of water.
    • It’s really amazing how much water will come out of the potato mix! I got nearly an entire cup. Very detrimental to the crispy potato situation.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk eggs. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, and remaining 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Add the cooked onions and garlic, zucchini, and potato, and stir together until well combined.
  • Place a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat to 200 degrees F.
    • The oven will keep the pancakes warm as they are being cooked in batches.
  • In the medium sauté pan used to cook the onions, heat to tablespoons olive oil over medium heat. When oil is heated, drop in the batter by rounded tablespoonfuls. Flatten gently with a fork. Cook about 2 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges. Flip and cook for another 2 minutes or until golden.
  • Place on a plate and keep warm in the oven until ready to serve.
  • Serve with chipotle lime dipping sauce
    • These pancakes are best served immediately, though they can be cooked up and kept in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Reheat in a lightly greased sauté pan the following day.

I think this cookbook is my new favorite! The full page pictures are gorgeous, and the writing makes me giggle. Giggling is great in the kitchen. Not so great in public though, so try and get it all out at once. Or something like that. I wouldn’t know. I’m stoic as all get out.

I love how Joy describes these as pancakes that are appropriate to serve to guests. You know, sometimes a girl just wants some pancakes at night time. These are just right. Serve them for dinner, breakfast, lunch….whenever. I can’t really imagine anything these wouldn’t be good with. I had mine with a great big baby spinach salad with chipotle lime dressing on it.  Ovi had salad too, but I think he would have rather just had a side of potato with his potato. He’s weird like that. I think he loves potatoes more than any person I’ve ever met.

Who was the first to fry a potato? I need to find out so I can go back in time and give them a hug. It’s pretty much the greatest thing ever. You go, mystery person. You’re my hero.

Happy Monday everyone! Hope your week is off to a great start, and if not….perhaps some fried potatoes are in order.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato and Zucchini Latkes with Creamy Chipotle Lime Dipping Sauce

  1. Pingback: Oven Baked Sweet Potato Fries, cost about $1.63 « Frugal Hausfrau's Blog

Comments are closed.