Skinny French Onion Dip with Greek Yogurt

caramelized_onion_dip_1

Classic French Onion Dip is given a wholesome makeover with some Greek Yogurt and slow caramelized onions. Perfect for potlucks, football Sunday, and even worthy of a spot on your holiday table. It’s a classic dish with a nutritious spin. Creamy, tangy, a little sweet and packed full of onion flavor. It’s a crowd-pleaser whether served with crudites or chips.

I planned out our Thanksgiving menu this year somewhat last minute, and couldn’t help but feel that something was missing. I racked my brain, I pulled out some hair, I ate some cookies. Then it occurred to me. It was the onion dip! How could we have a holiday without onion dip? I rummaged around in my fridge, caramelized some onions, and this is what I came up with. The outcome was rated “blog worthy” by all who sampled, so here we are. I re-made it and photographed it for the interwebz. Hooray!

Not every recipe makes it to the blog. Often times, a dish will turn out well but the photos are terrible. Sometimes it’s beautiful photos and a failed dish. If you’re interested in daily life stuff, and failed kitchen adventures you can also find me on Instagram at “JulieHGT”

caramelized_onion_dip_10

Ah, the ubiquitous onion dip – it’s a mainstay on the American party platter. We had a big bowl at every family gathering when I was a kid, and it was flippin’ delicious. If you can look past the rather dubious ingredient list, and the alarming sodium content, it’s tempting to eat the whole bowl.  Luckily, with this updated version – you really could!

As I’m making a genuine effort to eat a clean diet (aka nothing pre-prepared or in packet form,) a compromise would have to be made. Greek yogurt to the rescue! I love Greek yogurt, and have some in my fridge all the time. It’s a staple around here.  I love it for the protein, calcium, and low sodium content. The applications are only limited by your imagination. Savory or sweet, it’s hard to beat! Oh goodness…..I just wrote a jingle. Someone help me.

Here are a few more of my favorite recipes using yogurt (plus links):

caramelized_onion_dip_5

Okay, so I’m busted. This dip isn’t totally “clean” I just realized I used “Laughing Cow” cheese wedges as a binder. I really enjoy them, and their convenient built in portion control. Feel free to sub with light cream cheese.

caramelized_onion_dip_6

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet onion (diced)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil (keeps the butter from burning)
  • Splash of white wine, vermouth, or stock
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme (crushed in your hand)
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 cup non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 4 wedges laughing cow cheese, swiss flavor  (1/4 cup low fat cream cheese as a sub)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

For the onions:

  • Heat a heavy bottomed skillet or saucepan to medium heat and melt butter with olive oil
  • Add onions and toss to coat with melted butter
  • Reduce heat to lowest setting, cover, and allow onions to sweat for about 8 minutes, checking sometime in the middle to be sure the bottom isn’t burning
  • Raise heat just slightly and allow onions to caramelize, stirring every few minutes, and being sure to scrape up any browned bits from the pan. It will take about 25 minutes for the onions to become a deep caramel color
  • Deglaze pan with vermouth (or chosen liquid), being sure to scrape up any browned bits from the bottom of the pan
  • Transfer onions to a bowl and allow to cool

Putting together the dip:

  • Add remaining ingredients to a mixing bowl and blend together with an electric hand mixer until smooth.
  • Fold in onions

caramelized_onion_dip_7

The flavor of this dip actually improves with some time in the fridge, so feel free to make it a day or two in advance. I prepared it the night before and was pleased to find the flavors had deepened and infused delicious onion flavor into every bite. YUM.

caramelized_onion_dip_4

I’m hungry all over again now.

caramelized_onion_dip_2

I served this little snack on my favorite whole grain crackers, but French Onion Dip is good on anything! Carrots, pita chips, celery, bagels, chips – oh my.

Picture overload time:

caramelized_onion_dip_9

caramelized_onion_dip_3

caramelized_onion_dip_8

PS: It takes just as long to caramelize 5 onions as it does 1. Take advantage of this situation and make 2 dishes at once! Classic French onion soup calls for about 6 cups of raw onion. Make enough for the soup, and set some aside for the dip.  2 birds, 1 stone…..errrr….2 dishes, 7 onions, 1 pot… Something like that.

Classic French Onion Soup: recipe here

Happy Wednesday evening everyone!

3 thoughts on “Skinny French Onion Dip with Greek Yogurt

  1. Julie… this dip sounds amazing… I think I’ll whip some up on Sunday for our Christmas Eve celebration.. Question for you??? I was in Sacramento last week and attended a party at the Crocker Art Museum (which serves food as well as displays art)…. fun time! They served a Mushroom Latte and explained that each tiny cup contained 1 pound of mushrooms. It was thick, creamy, savory…. well, just down right delicious! Have you ever made such a thing? I tried looking up their menu in hopes of finding more infomation, but failed. If you’ve heard of, or made, or have suggestions… would love to hear them….
    Merry Christmas!

    • Thanks Jamie! Hope you guys like the dip. I have not heard of the mushroom latte, but that sounds really intriguing! I believe the 1 pound of mushroom claim, it’s amazing how much they will shrink. I would assume it was a mixture of dried mushrooms steeped/reconstituted in cream + a fresh mushroom and mirapoix saute with broth. Perhaps a bit of cognac too? Cognac, cream, tarragon and mushrooms are pretty classic. Then perhaps a whirl with an immersion blender and a pass through a sieve? We were watching “The F Word” and Ramsey used an immersion blender to foam soup before serving – it looked quite impressive. Perhaps start with a classic like Julia Child’s cream of mushroom and go from there? That’s how I would approach it.

      Hope my ramblings were helpful!

      PS: The dried shiitakes from Costco are tasty and way inexpensive. They’re fantastic for mushroom stock.

      • Thanks for the info. I don’t have an immersion blender… looks like I should have put that on my Christmas list. I would not have guessed that they used dried mushrooms (I’ve still go a lot to learn about cooking!)….. I am going to have to play with this one a bit… it was just so yummy and unfortunately, it may be a while before I am at the Crocker Art Museum again.

        Have a most fabulous Christmas! I’ll bet your putting on a wonderful meal ! xoxo

Comments are closed.