Breakfast Stuffin’ Muffins with Baked Egg

Leftover Thanksgiving dressing gets a makeover in the form of mini nests for a decadent baked egg. Crispy on the edges, moist and savory in the middle, and topped off with a creamy egg yolk. Leftovers never looked so good.

So, it’s officially 4 days after Thanksgiving, and I still have a fridge full of leftovers. As always, I cooked about 4 times as much food needed for the meal. I really think a 20 pound Turkey and about 10 pounds of side dishes was a tad overboard. Maybe just a wee bit.

I want to feed EVERYONE, it’s how I show love. It usually goes something like this:

ME:”Here I made this, eat it!” THEM: “But I’m full from all the other stuff you shoved in my face-hole” ME: “Here’s a plate anyway, I’ll watch you eat it” THEM: *look of defeat* *Distant sound of popping buttons*

Thanksgiving is like the official holiday for overfeeding your loved ones. Needless to say, I’m really good at that.

If you still have something like this in your fridge, it’s now or never. Use it or lose it. The cast here is simple: leftover dressing (mine is torn artisan bread, sage, sausage, and caramelized apple), some gravy or broth, eggs, and butter/margarine

Begin by preheating oven to 375° F

Step 1: Grease the pan thoroughly (or just use individual ramekins or coffee mugs)

I have a weird method that involves tearing off a corner of paper towel, scooping some butter and rubbing the pan with it. Do whatever works for you.

Step 2: Re-moisten the dressing if needed. I stirred in a little leftover gravy. Goodbye skinny jeans. It’s been swell.

Step 3: Fill muffin cups loosely with moist stuffing, and creat cup shape by pressing into the middle with a ladle or your fingers.

Step 4: Crack eggs into each nest and bake in preheated (375) oven for 13-16 minutes. 13 will yield a runny yolk, and 16 a hard set. Prepare to your personal preference.

stuffing_cup_9

Step 5: Loosen cooked “Stuffin’ Muffins from pan with a small spatula and lift onto a plate. Serve immediately.

Begin massive image over-share. Just go with it:

Hope you had a wonderful holiday with your family and friends!

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Stuffin’ Muffins with Baked Egg

Comments are closed.